Planet Formation and Evolution:

The Solar System and Extrasolar Planets

Tübingen, March 2-6, 2009

We are pleased to announce an international conference on

"The Formation of Planets: The Solar System and Extrasolar Planets"

that will take place during

March 2-6, 2009   at the University of Tübingen (Germany)

After the discovery of about 300 extrasolar planets and recent new observations made within our own Solar System, the process of planet formation and the subsequent evolution of planetary systems in general has received the highest ever attention of the scientific community, on theoretical as well as observational side.
The aim of this meeting is to bring together scientists from diverse fields (e.g. astronomy, planetary science, mineralogy and laboratory work) to engage in active discussion on questions such as how to combine the increased observational knowledge about the formation phase of the Solar System with the constraints placed by extrasolar planetary systems.
Topics will range form the early phase of planet formation (growth to planetesimals) to important aspects of planetary system evolution as a whole. One major goal of the meeting is to clarify the main defining principles of the planet formation process without concentrating on specific details of particular systems.
Scientific Topics:
Solar System Studies
Extrasolar Planets
Laboratory Work
Protoplanetary Discs
Particle Growth
Planetesimal Formation
Terrestrial and Giant Planets
Scientific Organizing Committee:
Jürgen Blum, TU Braunschweig
Cornelis Dullemond, MPIA Heidelberg
Lee Hartmann, University of Michigan
Artie Hatzes, Thüringer Landessternwarte Tautenburg
Wilhelm Kley, Universität Tübingen
Alexander Krot, University of Hawaii
Richard Nelson, University of London
Heike Rauer, DLR, Berlin-Adlershof
Mario Trieloff, Mineralogisches Institut, Universität Heidelberg
Local Organizing Committee:
Birgit Moldovan, Universität Tübingen
Ralf Geretshauser, Universität Tübingen
Roland Speith, Universität Tübingen
Invited Speakers:   (confirmed)
Fred Ciesla (Chicago)
Steve Desch (Arizona)
Anders Johansen (Leiden)
Ralf Klessen (Heidelberg)
Katharina Lodders (St. Louis)
Alessandro Morbidelli (Nice)
Sijme-Jan Paardekooper (Cambridge)
Lucio Mayer (Zürich)
Giovanna Tinetti (London)
Stephane Udry (Geneva)
Gerhard Wurm (Münster)
Registration is now open, the number of participants is limited to 150 persons.
The deadline for early registration is December 15, 2008 with a conference fee of 100 EUR.
The late fee will be 125 EUR.
NOTE: Registration closed!
If you are interested in attending this conference, please follow the instructions on the Registration Page.
Travel Information:
For information on how to reach the venue please refer to our venue site: Link
For further information and updates, please visit regularly this website, or write an e-mail to:
Birgit Moldovan:

For the SOC/LOC

Willy Kley & Roland Speith